en fr
Menu
See again the catalog
Clinton Fearon

This Morning

Release date : 30/09/2016
► listen / buy the album

Clinton Fearon was born in 1951 and grew up in the Jamaican hills of Sainte Catherine. He left with his mother to live in the big city, Kingston, at the age of fifteen and this affable man now lives in Seattle on the Pacific coast of the United States. During this time he was guitarist, bassist and singer with the iconic group The Gladiators. He left them in 1987 to start a solo career which included world tours with his group the Boogie Brown Band and ten albums. This Morning is his eleventh album, the third for Chapter Two / Wagram, after Heart and Soul, an acoustic album, in 2012, and Goodness in 2014.

The Brazilian illustrator Willian Santiago did the artwork for the sleeve which is colourful, figurative and geometric. Here is Mister Fearon commanding nature, with his goatee, cap and sun glasses, surrounded by banana trees, a parrot and a traveller’s palm. It sums him up perfectly: a being who respects “mother earth”, yet is demanding, a man who builds sounds, a reggae man who measures time straight down the line.

Clinton Fearon lives in Seattle, next to the ocean, because he feels “a good vibe” there, a good vibration, which suits his warm, rhythmic voice – it was from North America that Clinton Fearon got his soul and folk influences. The city where Jimi Hendrix was born is “excellent for creation”, says the singer songwriter who has swapped the sultry Caribbean heat for the fine rain of the northern United States, without any soul searching, because Jamaica “has always been a complicated country”.

The fresh Seattle weather brings a special relationship with nature, which is nurtured by the powerful presence of “Native Americans”, the Northwest Coast Indians. “They respect the land and so do I. I was born in the middle of the “bush”, where everyone depends on each other. When I arrived in Kingston, I used to say hello to everyone. People looked at me strangely. How could I belong to this city?». Through music and its beats, by starting my first group, The Brothers, by stalking the studios, by joining the warrior “Gladiators,” from the ghetto of Trenchtown. The kid from the mountains also became a “session man” at Studio One, founded by Clement Coxsone Dodd (1932-2004), where Bob Marley started out in 1969 and which reigned supreme in the golden age of reggae in the 1960s and 1970s. Jamaica gained independence in 1962. “The Jamaican dollar collapsed, kids had to live on the edge to survive”. And that’s when the money-changers from the temple descended, and made their mark on “rasta” Jamaica.

Rastafarianism is a religion, and Clinton Fearon has his own internal religion. The young Clinton remembers the rastas in the countryside, and a joint being offered to the schoolboy to show him the harmful power of “Babylon” – he used to go to the Adventist Church with his father. Clinton Fearon took the mystery of ska and reggae: the energy and the rhythms of Niyabinghi, one of the mansions of the Rastafarian movement which started in the 1930s and took the name of a central African princess who rebelled against colonialism and slavery in the 19th Century.

 “I never preach. I look at my hand for example, and I wonder what life spirit makes it move. I believe in the virtues of parallel forces, the power in the blood. Then we can choose to be happy or not. Distancing yourself from nature is the best idea there is to make you sad. This Morning, like everything that I’ve done, talks about respect and love. Over time with the insights I’ve had, the perspective has changed, but it always comes back to the same thing.I live with my own spirituality,” says the man with the broad smile who makes friendly discussion so easy and smooth. Clinton Fearon has a recipe for feeling good: “Love what you do, do what you love”. Which he applies to his musicians, harmoniously. “A group where everyone is respected can be as strong as a lion. But if it goes wrong, it becomes a headless lion”, a raw and helpless power.

What else does This Morning tell us? That this urban life which is so “solitary” stops us interacting with each other and pushes us to accept “that control can be taken by one single person or one single group”, politicians, businessmen, ideologues, merchants, the powerful from all walks of life who tell us: “I have made you rich, I’ll look after you”.  Clinton Fearon writes songs about this: No Justice, for example, and This Train Is Living. In thirteen tracks, he talks about his rejection of “those who claim to know more than we do and feel free to decide in our place,” he also talks about his attachment to his wife and the value of friends and companions in difficult times.

Recorded and mastered in Seattle, mixed at Studio Davout in Paris, the album is a balancing act. “I’m not a fast runner”, claims the artist-artisan, the long distance runner, who has left his mark on every curve of his musical drawing. Clinton Fearon plays everything (guitar, bass, percussion, voice), he added piano, saxophone, organ and marimba and made every effort to ensure “that we hear everything, together and separately, so that the lyrics and melodies that I’ve written sound just right”. It’s a question of unity.

Véronique Mortaigne

Read more

Tracklist

1. Doctor Say
2. This Morning
3. Waiting
4. No Justice
5. Talk
6. This Train Is Leaving
7. Respect
8. Speak Your Mind
9. Don’t Be Afraid
10. Fooling Myself
11. Turn Up The Music
12. Again
13. Wi A One

Et aussi...

Menu
Clinton Fearon

This Morning

date de sortie : 30/09/2016
► écouter / acheter l'album

Clinton Fearon est né en 1951 et a grandi dans les collines jamaïcaines de Sainte Catherine. Parti vivre avec sa mère dans la grande ville, à Kingston, à l’âge de quinze ans, l’homme affable vit actuellement à Seattle sur la côte pacifique des Etats-Unis. Entre temps, il fut guitariste, bassiste et chanteur du groupe mythique The Gladiators. Il s’en est séparé en 1987 pour mener une carrière solo émaillée de tournées mondiales avec son groupe le Boogie Brown Band et de dix albums. This Morning est le onzième, le troisième pour Chapter Two / Wagram, après Heart and Soul, album acoustique, en 2012, et Goodness en 2014.

L’illustrateur brésilien Willian Santiago en a dessiné la pochette : colorée, figurative, géométrique. Voici Mister Fearon en commandeur de la nature, barbiche, casquette, lunettes de soleil, entouré de bananier, perroquet, arbre du voyageur. C’est tout lui : créature respectueux de la « terre mère », rigoureux, bâtisseur de sons, reggae man qui mesure le temps au fil à plomb.

Si Clinton Fearon habite Seattle, en bord d’océan, c’est qu’il y sent « a good vibe », une bonne vibration, en adéquation avec sa voix, chaleureuse, rythmique – de l’Amérique du Nord, Clinton Fearon a retenu les pulsions soul et folk. La ville de Jimi Hendrix est « excellente pour la création », dit le chanteur, auteur compositeur, qui a troqué la touffeur caribéenne pour les pluies fines du nord des Etats-Unis, sans état d’âme, parce que la Jamaïque « a toujours été un pays compliqué ».

La fraîcheur de Seattle induit aussi un rapport privilégié avec la nature, entretenu par la forte présence des « native american », les indiens de la côte pacifique. « Ils respectent la terre, et moi aussi. Je suis né au milieu du « bush », où chacun dépend des autres. Quand je suis arrivé à Kingston,  je saluais tout le monde. On me regardait bizarrement. Comment pouvais-je appartenir à cette ville ? ». Par la musique et ses pulsations, en fondant un premier groupe, The Brothers, en arpentant les studios, en rejoignant le trio des « guerriers gladiateurs », issus du ghetto de Trenchtown. Le gosse des montagnes devient aussi « session man » au Studio One, fondé par Clement Dodd, dit Coxsone (1932-2004), où Bob Marley débuta en 1969 et qui présida à l’âge d’or du reggae dans les années 1960 et 1970. En 1962, la Jamaïque gagne son indépendance. « Le dollar jamaïcain s’effondre, les gamins doivent trouver des solutions marginales pour vivre ». Et voici les marchands du temple qui débarquent, et estampillent la Jamaïque « rasta ».

Le rastafarisme est une religion, et Clinton Fearon n’entretient que la sienne, intérieure. Des rastas de la campagne, le petit Clinton a le souvenir d’un joint de ganja offert à l’écolier pour mieux observer la puissance néfaste de « Babylon » – lui fréquentait l’église adventiste avec son père. Clinton Fearon a pris du ska et du reggae leurs mystères : l’énergie et les rythmiques des Niyabinghi, l’un des piliers du mouvement rastafari né dans les années 1930, qui avait pris le nom d’une princesse centre-africaine en rébellion contre le colonialisme et l’esclavage au 19è siècle.

« Je ne prêche jamais. Je regarde ma main par exemple, et je me demande quel esprit de vie la fait bouger. Je crois aux vertus des forces parallèles, une force du sang. Puis, on peut choisir, être heureux ou non. S’éloigner de la nature est la meilleure idée qui soit pour être triste. This Morning parle, comme dans tout ce que j’ai fait, de respect et d’amour. Au fil du temps les éclairages que j’ai donnés, les angles, ont changé, mais on en revient toujours au même. Je vis avec ma propre spiritualité », dit l’homme, avec le large sourire qui rend fluides les échanges amicaux. Pour se sentir bien, Clinton Fearon a une recette : « Love what you do, do what you love ». Ce qu’il applique avec ses musiciens, en harmonie. « Un groupe où tout le monde est respecté peut être puissant comme un lion. Mais si cela dysfonctionne, il devient un lion sans tête », une force brute et désemparée.

Que nous dit encore This Morning ? Que cette vie urbaine au modèle « solitaire » nie les interactions et nous pousse à accepter « que le contrôle soit pris par une seule personne ou un seul groupe », politiciens, entrepreneurs, idéologues, marchands, puissants de toutes les engeances qui nous disent : « Je t’ai fait riche, je te tiens ».  Clinton Fearon en fait des chansons : No Justice, par exemple, This Train Is Living. En treize titres, il y dit son refus de « ceux qui prétendent en savoir plus que nous pour prendre la liberté de décider à notre place », il y dit aussi son attachement à sa femme, la valeur des amis et compagnons dans les temps difficiles.

Enregistré et masterisé à Seattle, mixé au studio Davout à Paris, l’album est un jeu d’équilibre. « I’m not a fast runner », précise l’artiste-artisan, le coureur de fond, qui a planté ses clous de tapissiers à chaque courbe de son dessin musical. Clinton Fearon joue de tout (guitare, basse, percussions, voix), il a ajouté du piano, du saxophone, de l’orgue, du marimba, et s’est appliqué à faire en sorte « qu’on entende tout, ensemble et séparément, que soit appliqué le juste son sur les paroles et les mélodies que j’ai écrites ».  C’est une question d’unité.

Lire la suite

Tracklist

1. Doctor Say
2. This Morning
3. Waiting
4. No Justice
5. Talk
6. This Train Is Leaving
7. Respect
8. Speak Your Mind
9. Don’t Be Afraid
10. Fooling Myself
11. Turn Up The Music
12. Again
13. Wi A One

Et aussi...