en fr
Menu
See again the catalog
Zoufris Maracas

Chienne de vie

Release date : 2/03/2015
► listen / buy the album

Mediocrity is the beginning of excellence! So says Vincent Sanchez – or Vin’s -, lead singer of Zoufris Maracas, in an uplifting message that instructs us to shed our inhibitions.  Unemployed, with an empty fridge and not a penny to enjoy himself, he concocted three verses using four chords to stave off boredom. “It started with a rubbish song that made me laugh; I couldn’t get it out of my head so I carried on.” His childhood friend, Vincent Allard – Micho – encouraged him to hum it once he could. “He always told me I could sing but it annoyed me because it felt too superficial for all the important things we had to say.” Brought up listening to Renaud, and extremely fond of Brel and Brassens, the young apprentice fairly took off during 2006, crafting a dozen or so beautifully radiant and finely honed songs.

After two years spent on the streets of Montpellier, Marseille, Toulouse, Lyon and Nantes asking passers-by to join Greenpeace, Vincent Sanchez had accumulated a wealth of inspiration along with a healthy dose of irritation. Armed with his environmental degree and an understanding of NGOs, he shared his knowledge about climate change and soil pollution, convinced of his ability to incite the man in the street to revolt. “My exasperation drove me to write a song. Although the words aren’t particularly combative, I like describing reactions, unmasking posturing and shams, and ridiculing reality,” elucidates the man from Sète, citing a series of stances that he bases his work on. “It’s because of music that we realise just how many of us think the same way: it enhances our ability to react.”

Before playing to packed concert venues, Zoufris Maracas plied its trade in the capital’s underground network. In 2007, the two Vincents, Sanchez and Allard, table football friends since the age of 15, spent the summer together playing in Paris’ Metro tunnels. In order to feed themselves, they busked on the streets, firstly earning a few centimes and then tens and tens of euros. “We sang really badly to begin with, but we had no choice! Gradually we got a taste for it and started to improve. We went to Montmartre every day, which meant we’d be able to eat at least.” At the end of the summer, they recorded 8 tracks with a friend – “a little demo that we just dashed off” – and their mate Youri added in some joyous trumpets to their guitar/vocals formula.

Throughout the winter, the duo shunned café terraces, opting instead for RATP trains, a habit that soon became second nature.  They sang songs with clear messages that made people laugh, despite the underground hustle and bustle, and that conveyed a poetic touch.  They were soon spotted by the underground festival organiser, Titi.  The event’s sponsor, Julio, also wanted to get behind the still-amateur Zoufris. “At least they had the nerve to do it, even though we didn’t really look like we were right for the job!”, remembers Vincent Sanchez. Along the way, they were introduced to François Causse, former drummer for Thiéfaine and Bashung, with whom they recorded the track Un Gamin, “just to see what it would be like.” This capricious band of players was then joined by some friends of friends: Mike – a fan of Django Reinhardt – on manouche guitar, and Brice – a Conservatoire student – on trumpet.

After a year spent grafting in the studio, Julio contacted music publishers Raoul Breton, renowned for their prestigious classic repertoire in the vein of Charles Aznavour and Yves Montand. Well-versed in the differences between African and French music, the publishers signed Zoufris Maracas at the beginning of 2010 before winning over the Chapter Two label in June 2011.

Professionalization has robbed none of the band’s quirkiness; they are still equally dedicated to not working, and to opening up opportunities for freedom. Chienne de vie follows their first album, Prison Dorée, evincing their ramped-up enthusiasm for the whole adventure. Whilst Vin’s and Micho roamed across West Africa in their youth with a travelling film project, it was in Mexico that they began writing this new album that now boils down to a patchwork of their explorations, with its Latino, manouche, African and even disco sounds, and themes as varied as nanotechnology, heartbreak and other hot potatoes. “What we all love is mixing things up! We like changing musical worlds, from start to finish, because each type of music produces a different emotion,” emphasises Vincent Sanchez. Coming as no surprise, then, are the contributions of two VIP guests, Winston McAnuff on “Nanotechnologie” and the percussionists from Reunion-based group Lindingo on the track “Pacifique”. “Because the situation is desperate here, we have to give hope elsewhere… Life blossoms amid diversity.”

On stage, Zoufris Maracas champion this same brand of idle spontaneity. Avoiding rehearsals as much as possible, the artists shun presentation, staging and any form of deliberate personality creation.  “People take us as they find us: our worst nightmare would be to operate in automatic mode. We sing about our emotions, which obviously vary depending on what’s happening.” Paying tribute to Algerian workers who came to France looking for work in the 1950s, Zoufris Maracas depicts a constant exile that is both overwhelming and raw.

Read more

Tracklist

1. Chienne de Vie
2. Nanotechnologie
3. Et si demain
4. Je ne veux de l’amour
5. Les écrans
6. Bande de moules
7. L'argent
8. Mazunte
9. Les femmes simulent
10. Nu dans la ville
11. Le choix et l'avantage
12. Didier
13. 4 planches
14. Poulet
15. Pacifik
16. Bois bourgeois

Menu
Zoufris Maracas

Chienne de vie

date de sortie : 2/03/2015
► écouter / acheter l'album

La médiocrité, c’est le début de l’excellence ! ». Décomplexant et vivifiant, l’adage est signé Vincent Sanchez – Vin’s – chef de file des Zoufris Maracas. Chômeur, le frigo vide et pas une thune pour les loisirs, il bricole trois rimes sur quatre accords pour lutter contre l’ennui. « Ca a commencé par une chanson à la con qui m’a fait rire : ça m’a troublé et j’ai continué. ». Son pote d’enfance, Vincent Allard – Micho – l’encourage à fredonner dès que possible. « Il me disait tout le temps que je savais chanter mais ça m’énervait parce que c’était toujours trop léger alors qu’on avait des tas de choses à dire. ». Elevé à la Renaud, friand de Brel et Brassens, l’apprenti s’élance courant 2006 et sculpte une belle dizaine de chansons, pétillantes et affûtées.

Après deux années dans les rues à faire adhérer les passants à Greenpeace, de Montpellier à Marseille en passant par Toulouse, Lyon et Nantes, Vincent Sanchez a accumulé une bonne dose d’inspiration et d’énervement. Avec sa licence d’environnement et sa maîtrise sur les ONG en poche, il diffuse ce qu’il sait sur le changement climatique ou la pollution des sols, persuadé de pouvoir encourager le badaud à la révolte. « A force d’exaspération, je finis par déclencher une chanson. Même si les paroles ne sont pas forcément revendicatives, j’aime décrire des réactions, démasquer des faux-semblants, railler une réalité. », décrypte le Sétois, proposant des discours paliers sur lesquels s’appuyer. « Grâce à la musique, on réalise qu’on est nombreux à être d’accord : ça augmente notre capacité à réagir. ».

Avant de soulever des hordes dans des salles de concert, Zoufris Maracas emprunte la case métro. En 2007, les deux Vincent, Sanchez et Allard, compagnons de baby foot depuis l’âge de 15 ans, partagent un premier été de galères parisiennes. Pour avoir quelque chose à se mettre sous la dent, ils se produisent dans la rue, gagnent quelques centimes puis des dizaines et des dizaines d’euros. « Au début, on chantait comme des casseroles mais on n’avait pas le choix ! Petit à petit, on y a pris goût et on s’est amélioré. On allait tous les jours à Montmartre, ça nous permettait au moins de bouffer. » A la fin des beaux jours, ils enregistrent 8 titres chez un pote – « une petite démo à l’arrache » – et leur copain Youri ajoute de joyeuses trompettes à leur formule guitare-voix.

Pendant l’hiver, le duo délaisse les terrasses de café et opte, comme un réflexe quotidien, pour les rames de la RATP. Il s’agit de jouer des chansons ultra-efficaces et de faire rire les gens malgré le barnum souterrain, le tout avec une pointe de poésie. Très vite, l’organisateur d’un festival underground les repère, il s’appelle Titi. Julio, le parrain de l’événement, a lui aussi envie de défendre des Zoufris encore amateurs. « Ils avaient au moins l’audace d’y aller, même si on n’avait pas franchement la gueule de l’emploi ! », se souvient Vincent Sanchez. Dans la foulée, on leur présente François Causse, l’ancien batteur de Thiéfaine et Bashung, chez qui ils enregistrent le titre Un Gamin, « juste pour voir ce que ça pouvait donner ». A cette bande folâtre, viennent se greffer des amis d’amis : Mike à la guitare manouche, fan de Django Reinhardt, et Brice à la trompette, une pointure du conservatoire.

Après une année de travail en studio, Julio contacte les éditions Raoul Breton, célèbres pour leur prestigieux répertoire à l’ancienne, type Charles Aznavour et Yves Montand. Adeptes du contraste entre musique africaine et chanson française, les éditeurs signent avec Zoufris Maracas début 2010 avant de convaincre le label Chapter Two en juin 2011.
La professionnalisation n’a rien enlevé à la fraicheur du groupe, toujours assidu dans l’exercice de ne pas travailler, pour sans cesse créer des espaces de liberté. Chienne de vie succède au premier album Prison Dorée et l’ivresse du voyage s’intensifie. Si, plus jeunes, Vin’s et Micho ont vadrouillé en Afrique de l’Ouest avec un projet de ciné itinérant, c’est au Mexique qu’ils débutent l’écriture de ce nouvel album sur lequel est distillé aujourd’hui un patchwork de leurs explorations, avec des sons latinos, manouches, africains ou encore discos, et des thématiques aussi variées que les nanotechnologies, les chagrins d’amour et autres cyber-pétitions. « Notre unité, c’est de mélanger ! On aime changer d’univers musical du début à la fin, parce que chaque musique produit une émotion différente. » souligne Vincent Sanchez. D’où deux invités de prestige Winston McAnuff sur « Nanotechnologie » et les percussions du groupe réunionnais Lindingo sur le titre « Pacifique ». « Puisqu’ici la situation est désespérée, nous devons donner des espérances d’ailleurs… La vie s’épanouit dans la diversité. »

Sur scène, Zoufris Maracas cultive cette même spontanéité oisive. Evitant autant que possible les répétitions, les artistes boycottent la mise en scène et toute construction de personnages. « On nous découvre dans l’état dans lequel on est ce jour-là : notre pire cauchemar serait de débarquer en mode automatique. On chante sur notre sphère émotionnelle, elle varie forcément selon les événements ». Zoufris Maracas, en hommage aux ouvriers algériens venus travailler dans la France des années 50, c’est un exil perpétuel, surprenant, à fleur de peau.

Lire la suite

Tracklist

1. Chienne de Vie
2. Nanotechnologie
3. Et si demain
4. Je ne veux de l’amour
5. Les écrans
6. Bande de moules
7. L'argent
8. Mazunte
9. Les femmes simulent
10. Nu dans la ville
11. Le choix et l'avantage
12. Didier
13. 4 planches
14. Poulet
15. Pacifik
16. Bois bourgeois

Et aussi...