en fr
Menu
See again the catalog

Only One

Release date : 28/11/2018
► listen / buy the album

“Like the rapper? You’ll love the singer!” this is the kind of slogan that would be used to market Beat Assailant’s. But as we know from his first album (“Hard Twelve” in 2005, a real classic for fans of the golden age of rap), Beat Assailant is anything but a “product”. The proof? He never ceases to take vocal risks and to evolve artistically. For several years now, he has been expanding his vocal range, honing his craft, and now joins the ranks of other modern rappers who perform in multiple styles (André 3000, Pharrell Williams, etc.), as comfortable singing melodies as they are spitting rhymes.

The Atlanta native, who now lives between Paris and NYC, is putting the finishing touches to a record that he has already dubbed “The best album I have ever made”, due for release in early 2019. Daring to really, truly sing, without losing the intensity of his rap, lends an irresistible energy to this bold new direction. As a prelude to this upcoming album, Beat Assailant is releasing the E.P. “Only One”, four tracks that announce the bright and flamboyant style of his new sound.

“Only One” is a future dancefloor hit, with a French electro feel thanks to the production by 9 O’Clock, and a video not to be missed.

“The Spot” brings irrepressible layers of keyboard, a sort of digital funk explosion that evokes both Bernie Worrel and Dâm-Funk, produced by ALfred (who is none other than Alex of producer duo Synapson, currently supported by BA in their concerts at the Elysée Montmartre, Printemps de Bourges, etc.).

“Boss Chick” features the young, trendy duo Haute, combining a jazz-style bass, rap couplets, and Anna’s voice accompanying BA in the chorus.

Finally, on “Bad Boy”, Beat Assailant sings a sophisticated, elegantly minimalist R&B melody produced by Art Of Shades.

Everything is finalised, mixed and mastered by the famous NK.F. (Orelsan, PNL, Damso, Angèle, etc.), who perfects the songs and the raps of a Beat Assailant, whose lyrics are fresher than ever. This new EP is due for release on November 30th, before the album drops in 2019, followed by a tour with his new band.

Read more

Tracklist

1. Only One
2. Boss Chick (feat. Anna Majidson)
3. Bad Boy
4. The Spot

en fr
Menu
Revoir le catalogue
Beat Assailant

Only One

date de sortie : 28/11/2018
► écouter / acheter l'album

Le plus français des rappeurs américains, auteur du désormais classique « Hard twelve », se réinvente avec un son plus mélodieux et plus frais que jamais.

« Vous avez aimé le rappeur ? Vous allez adorer le chanteur ! », voilà le genre de slogan avec lequel on pourrait aujourd’hui vanter le retour de Beat Assailant. Mais on le sait depuis son premier album (« Hard Twelve » en 2005, un vrai classique pour les fans de l’age d’or du rap), il est précisément l’inverse d’un produit marketing. La preuve : il continue de prendre des risques vocaux et d’évoluer artistiquement. Depuis plusieurs années, il a ouvert sa voix, perfectionné son chant, et il fait désormais partie de ces rappeurs modernes aux styles multiples (André 3000, Pharrell Williams, etc), aussi à l’aise pour entonner des mélodies que pour débiter des rimes en cascade.

Le natif d’Atlanta, qui vit désormais entre Paris et NYC, peaufine un disque qu’il considère déjà comme « le meilleur album que je n’ai jamais fait. », à sortir début 2019. Oser chanter vraiment, pleinement, sans perdre l’intensité du rap, cela donne une énergie irrésistible à ses nouvelles inspirations. Prélude à ce prochain album, Beat Assaillant sort d’abord le E.P. « Only One », quatre titres qui annoncent les couleurs vives et flamboyantes de son nouveau son.

« Only One » est un futur hymne des dancefloors, avec ce petit coté électro french touch dans la production de 9 O’Clock, et un clip à voir absolument.

« The Spot » surfe sur des nappes de claviers effervescentes, une sorte d’explosion funk digital qui évoque Bernie Worrel autant que Dâm-Funk, produit par ALfred (qui n’est autre qu’Alex du duo de producteurs Synapson, que B.A. accompagne actuellement pendant leurs concerts à l’Elysée Montmartre, Printemps de Bourges, etc).

« Boss Chick » convie le jeune duo branché de Haute, entre basse filtrée jazz, couplets rap, et la voix d’Anna qui rejoint celle de B.A. pendant les refrains.

Enfin, sur « Bad Boy », Beat Assaillant entonne une mélodie R&B classieuse, d’une élégance minimale, produit par Art Of Shades.

Le tout est finalisé, mixé et masterisé par le célèbre NK.F. (Orelsan, PNL, Damso, Angèle, etc), qui sublime les chants et les raps d’un Beat Assailant plus frais que jamais.

Lire la suite

Tracklist

1. Only One
2. Boss Chick (feat. Anna Majidson)
3. Bad Boy
4. The Spot