en fr
Menu
See again the catalog

Big Brothers

Release date : 21/09/2018
► listen / buy the album

Winston McAnuff and Fixi’s current relationship can be summed up in two words: musical fraternity. It presides over the spirit of this third “Big Brothers” opus, like a motto of their Republic sound.

“Fraternity”, a term that can be written in French, English, Spanish, Portuguese, Arabic, Jamaican patois, Reunion Creole, Afghan dari, Malian Bambara and even Eritrean tigrigna. Because the album, as musically diverse as ever, was actually born in Calais.

In December 2015, at the initiative of their beatboxer concert partner Markus (Marc Ruchmann), Winston McAnuff and Fixi organised a New Year’s Eve party for – and with – the migrants. In the company of Olivier Loustau, favourite actor of Abdellatif Kechiche and director of The Boss’s Daughter (La Fille du Patron), the night was spent ringing in new year… every two hours! Because of everyone’s different time zones, multiple midnights ensued, each presented in every language.

The humanity of this interaction, and the fraternal power of this Babel’s feast, radiates in “Big Brothers”, and especially resonates on the track “Crying for love”. Written by Winston McAnuff from the top of the cliffs of Dover, “Crying for Love” is an anthem for all those who have braved the seas in the hope of finding a land to call home, as well as an ode to hospitality. Through the melody, as beautiful as the rainbow imagined by Jimmy Cliff, the beating heart of percussion, the piano and the accordion intertwined, an island of possibilities becomes clear.

Since their first meeting on “Paris Rockin” (2007), a cult record celebrating the collaboration of Jamaican McAnuff with French band Java, Winston and Fixi have continued to forge a bond. After the success of their début album “A New Day” (2013), the singer, with his majestic gravelled tone, and the accordionist-sound director, are embarking on a new adventure. This “Big Brothers” tells of the intimacy and confidence that has developed between the two artists, a condition of their creative regeneration.

While they continue to draw on the musical fraternity we already know and love (the maloya of Olivier Araste from the band Lindigo, and Cyril Atef’s Afro-beat drumming), new influences have made their way into this two-person democracy. Like the Cuban cha-cha-cha on the track “Big Brother”, with its dancing piano, its psychedelic fuzz, and instantly catchy melody. As well as gospel and soul from Winston McAnuff’s friends for the groovy chorus of “I came I saw”, transcended by Fixi’s funkadelic accordion.

It was this fraternal complicity that led Winston McAnuff to a song unlike any he’s made before. On “Black Bird” he lets out high-pitched caws, becomes the narrator of a child’s lullaby, leans over towards a Cat Stevens style, and caresses the pop folklore of the Beatles’ “Norwegian Wood”.

Throughout the album, all the lyrics (often written by Winston on the road in Jamaica), share this “big brother” wisdom. They are maxims about life, confidences and parables, for achieving the only happiness that truly counts: one we have built for ourselves and that we can see when it is there. “Now you’ve got it, please respect it” Winston sings on “If You Want It So Bad”. As for “Think”, one of the album’s key songs, it’s an instant classic, hammering homes its ternary motto “think, observe and listen”.

The good news is that this “Big Brothers” is not really a brotherhood in the truest sense of the term. This second album is all about women. They make up the majority of the new band formed by Winston and Fixi. They are celebrated in love songs “Sweet love of mine” and “My Angel”, from harmonica to melodica. And finally, Pongo, a Lisbon-based singer from Angola and the only featured artist on the album, takes the spotlight on the abrasive “One Note”. She launches vocal uppercuts, like a synthwave heroine crossed with an MC from the “Rappin Hoods of New York”.
With “Big Brothers”, fraternity is a party, and it’s only just getting started.

Read more

Tracklist

1. Big Brother
2. My Angel
3. If You Want it so Bad
4. I Came I Saw
5. Sweet Love of Mine
6. One Note feat. Pongo
7. Think
8. Black Bird
9. Crying for Love
10. Good Feeling

Menu
Winston McAnuff & Fixi

Big Brothers

date de sortie : 21/09/2018
► écouter / acheter l'album

La fraternité musicale voilà ce qui définit aujourd’hui les liens qu’ont tissé Winston McAnuff et Fixi. Elle préside à l’esprit de ce troisième opus « Big Brothers » comme une devise de leur sono République.

« Fraternité » un mot qui s’écrirait en français, en anglais, en espagnol, en portugais, en arabe, en patois jamaïcain, en créole réunionnais, en dari afghan, en bambara malien ou encore en tigrigna érythréen. Car cet album qui croise, comme à leur habitude, de nombreux horizons musicaux, est aussi né à Calais.

En décembre 2015, à l’initiative de leur compère de concert beatboxeur Markus (Marc Ruchmann), Winston McAnuff et Fixi sont invités à donner un concert de nouvel an avec et pour les migrants. En compagnie d’Olivier Loustau, interprète fétiche d’Abdellatif Kechiche et réalisateur de La fille du patron, la nuit se passe à fêter la nouvelle année… toutes les deux heures ! Suivant les fuseaux horaires des pays des uns et des autres, minuit se multiplie et se conjugue dans toutes les langues.

L’humanité de ces échanges, la puissance fraternelle de ce banquet de Babel rayonne dans « Big Brothers », et résonne tout particulièrement dans le titre « Crying for love ». Ecrit par Winston McAnuff du haut des falaises de Douvres, « Crying for Love » est à la fois le chant de tous les peuples qui ont franchit la mer dans l’espoir de trouver une terre d’accueil, et un hymne à l’hospitalité. C’est à travers la musique, belle comme un arc en ciel de Jimmy Cliff, le coeur battant de percussions, le piano et l’accordéon entrelacés, que se dessine une île de possibilités.

Depuis leur première rencontre sur « Paris Rockin » (2007), disque aussi hybride que culte célébrant l’association du jamaïcain McAnuff avec les français du groupe Java, Winston et Fixi n’ont cessé d’approfondir leurs liens. Après le succès de leur premier album en duo « A New Day » (2013), le chanteur au timbre héroïquement cabossé et l’accordéoniste-metteur en son, franchissent une nouvelle étape. Ce « Big Brothers » raconte l’intimité et la confiance qui s’est installée entre ces deux-là. Condition de leur renouvellement créatif.

Si toujours se presse autour d’eux la fratrie musicale qu’on leur connaît (le maloya d’Olivier Araste du groupe Lindigo, les percussions afro-beat de Cyril Atef), de nouvelles influences s’invitent dans leur démocratie à deux têtes. C’est le cha-cha-cha cubain du titre « Big Brother », avec son piano dansant, son fuzz psychédélique, et sa mélodie instantanément accrocheuse. Mais aussi le gospel et la soul des amis de Winston Mc Anuff pour la chorale groovy de « I came I saw », transcendée par l’accordéon funkadelic de Fixi.

Il fallait cette complicité fraternelle pour emmener Winston McAnuff vers un chant inédit. Sur le titre « Black Bird » il croasse dans les aigues, se fait le conteur d’une berceuse enfantine, penche la tête du côté de Cat Stevens, caresse le folklore pop d’un « Norvegian wood » des Beatles.

Au fil de l’album, les paroles (souvent composées par Winston sur les routes jamaïcaines), ont en commun cette sagesse de « grand frère ». Ce sont des maximes de vie, des confidences et des paraboles, pour saisir le seul bonheur qui vaille : celui que l’on s’est construit et qu’on est capable de voir quand il est là. « Now you’ve got it, please respect it” chante Winston sur “If You Want It So Bad”. Quant à « Think » une des clés du disque, c’est un classique immédiat qui martèle son crédo ternaire « pense, observe et écoute ».

La bonne nouvelle c’est que ce « Big Brothers » n’est pas un fratriarcat pour autant. Ce deuxième album est bien celui des femmes. Elles sont majoritaires au sein du nouveau groupe formé par Winston et Fixi. Elles sont célébrées dans les chants d’amour de « Sweet love of mine » ou « My Angel ». Enfin Pongo, chanteuse lisboète originaire d’Angola et seul featuring de l’album, trône sur un titre abrasif « One Note ». Elle y décroche des uppercuts vocaux, à la façon d’une héroïne de synthé wave croisée avec une MC du « New York Rappin Hood ».
Avec «Big Brothers » la fraternité est une fête, et elle ne fait que commencer.

Lire la suite

Tracklist

1. Big Brother
2. My Angel
3. If You Want it so Bad
4. I Came I Saw
5. Sweet Love of Mine
6. One Note feat. Pongo
7. Think
8. Black Bird
9. Crying for Love
10. Good Feeling

Et aussi...